electronic media for high quality listening

D

Dread348

Audiophyte
I am a very new audiophile. I just bought my first decent receiver and speakers. I just moved across the country and chose to sell my desktop computer that was my main hub for music. I kept my storage drive so that I wouldn't lose all of my music but it got damaged in the move. I am out of a lot of money in music luckily I did buy a fair amount of it on CD.

I want to know how to get the best sound out of music stored on a computer library. I want to be able to rip my CDs to a computer and listen to it directly from the computer. What is the best way to do all of this? I would love to hear suggestions on storage format. File size is not an issue. I have extensive experience with iTunes but I would definitely consider going with a different program that is better. I have an ipod that I carry and I would like it to be the same format but if it requires me to have two libraries then so be it.

I am looking into building a computer for the task to be a mini media player for my home entertainment system. Plans would include playing ripped movies from my collection. I love not having to get off of the couch and dig through movies to find what I want. :)

Thanks for any input that you could give.

H

hewlett123

Enthusiast
If you don't have *any* restriction on file size, then I would easily go FLAC when ripping all your music. The music is held losslessly and transferring between mediums would result in no loss. Unfortunately there is little outside of a computer that can support it so your mini-media player would be a necessity.