Don't connect AMP to UPS or Power Conditioner --->>> ??

nasd90

nasd90

Audioholic
This is strange to me but then again I'm fairly new to the 'audio' world.

I am getting an EarthQuake Sound Cinenova 5 delivered today and I've been chit-chatting with their not so descriptive and not so helpful support team through email and they've told me NOT to connect the amp directly to either a line-interactive UPS OR a power conditioner... to just plug it directly into the wall. I'm assuming I could at least use a power strip.

He said it would be "Not good for the amp." regarding the Line-Interactive UPS and to "connect power to the wall", and for the power conditioner he said "MAKE SURE NOT TO CONNECT THE CINENOVA TO A POWER CONDITIONER."

So, my questions are... Does this seem right ? Are all amps like this ?

Thanks

Nick

avaserfi

avaserfi

Audioholic Ninja
I haven't heard this before but I know my power conditioner has a spot specifically labeled for high currents and in that section one plug is labeled amp. So Belkin thinks its okay atleast.

D

Dolby CP-200

Banned
nasd90

I assume your talking about this pictured below? I have no experience with the Earthquake, but I have heard of the name over the past 7 years.

I sure someone here might be more clued up this product than I am.

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
Well, I can not imagine the reasoning for such a warning.

A good UPS simply creates a clean sine wave of the desired voltage in absence of normal line voltage.

However, your amplifier, from the picture, appears to be substantial. You might (?) need a commercial grade 2000VA large capacity UPS to drive that unit off of battery power.

-Chris

adk highlander

adk highlander

Sith Lord
I have been through this same question with Emotiva over my recent MPS-1 purchase. Lonnie (very knowledgeable and helpful tech support) told me the same thing.