Do expensive CD players sound better?

J

JDawg

Junior Audioholic
I have an old Teac PD-D1200 cd player that I've been using for about the last 15 years. Then I started reading about more expensive cd players such as Cambridge Audio Azur 640C, Rotel 1072 or the NAD C542. So I was just wondering if these cd players would be a noticeable improvement over what I have right now or do all cd players sound the same?

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord
I'd say no. I can't hear the difference between my Magnavox CDB-650 (1986) and my Denon DVD-2200 or the Pioneer PD-65 I used to have (which was produced for nearly a decade because it was a "reference standard").

If you want to upgrade because of other reasons, I'd say go for it. If you are expecting a difference in sound, you might hear one, but it's not likely a measurable audible difference will be heard.

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
I have an old Teac PD-D1200 cd player that I've been using for about the last 15 years. Then I started reading about more expensive cd players such as Cambridge Audio Azur 640C, Rotel 1072 or the NAD C542. So I was just wondering if these cd players would be a noticeable improvement over what I have right now or do all cd players sound the same?
Seth=L has is correct:D Not about to have a sonic improvement besides being imagined because it is a different player:D

J

JDawg

Junior Audioholic
If that's true then I guess I don't need to spend lots of money for a new cd player. I thought the Wolfson WM8740 24-bit/192kHz DACs in a player like the Cambridge Audio Azur 640C would've made a difference and it seems to be getting lots of good reviews. Well my Teac cd player just broke today while listening to a new cd I bought so I guess I'll have to get a new player anyways. So in the meantime I'll have to use my old crappy Magnavox portable cd player.

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord