Denon 3600H Front channels disconnect

A

ABallagh

Audiophyte
Hi folks, just joined here after watching one of the site vids on the Denon x3600H, I also read the review and I would like to get this amp but I have a question about one of its great selling points, the front ch. disconnect. So I note this function only works if 11.1 mode is enabled. So my question is this, what are the consequences if any, of enabling 11.1 and only connecting 5 channels? I will only be connecting front pre outs, centre and rears. Ive been running an onkyo tx-nr 709 for almost 9 years and I didnt know the internal amps were been driven while im connected to the pre outs! Anyway, the onkyo is now failing and its time for an upgrade.

I

Isak Öhrlund

Junior Audioholic
I don't think you can "enable" 11.1 if you only have 5.1 installed. You'd have to connect cables to the rest of the terminals, and I would not do that if I were you. First, electrical current will go out from those terminals, and if they touch, they will short circuit. Second, the AVR will send sound to all channels, so all that sound will get lost.

A

ABallagh

Audiophyte
I don't think you can "enable" 11.1 if you only have 5.1 installed. You'd have to connect cables to the rest of the terminals, and I would not do that if I were you. First, electrical current will go out from those terminals, and if they touch, they will short circuit. Second, the AVR will send sound to all channels, so all that sound will get lost.