lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
You don't have a sub it appears. Generally the crossover is between speakers and subs....in your case it may be your center/surrounds to mains since they're set to "small" (i.e. use bass management and your L/R are set to large, i.e. do not use bass management). Your manual may have more info, been a while since I used MCACC but I always had subs, too. What are all the speakers involved here? Generally a starting crossover recommended when using subs is 80hz. You might set your center and surrounds to "large" otoh as you don't have a sub and let them run full range.

remomoreira

remomoreira

Audioholic Intern
Is there a danger of damaging the speakers or the receiver if I set the crossover at 200?
I confess I am a newbie at audio and dont understand this.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Not even sure it functions without a sub. It may act like a high pass filter for the center/surrounds, it may not limit them. Won't hurt to leave it set at 200hz, tho I tend to want a center using more of the frequency range myself. Best to know what the speakers particularly are, too.

remomoreira

remomoreira

Audioholic Intern
Is there a danger of damaging the speakers or the receiver if I set the crossover at 200?
I confess I am a newbie at audio and dont understand this.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Do you understand what a crossover is in the first place? It is where a low pass filter's slope "crosses over" a high pass filter's slope. So essentially if the 200hz is working on your center/surrounds, it is simply limiting lower frequencies (letting the high frequencies "pass") to your center/surrounds. Might be missing something from the speakers and if inadequate, possibly protecting them.

remomoreira

remomoreira

Audioholic Intern
Thank you very much!
So I think 200 is fine. Most of the low must in fact go to the towers (standing floors). They play low frequêncies well.