It will actually do it via future software that will simply view the current player as having a "revoked" license and refuse to play. You'll be able to play all your old stuff, but new movies and such will not work on the player with a revoked license.
It's a type of dynamic security... pretty interesting actually. Should take at least a couple weeks to break as opposed to a couple minutes.