Connecting projector to dvd and amplifier. I am lost

M

Mermose

Audiophyte
Hello!
I need a little help as I am new in home cinema installation.
I just bought a Yamaha AX-757SE amplifier, a projector Benq pb8250 (which has component and DVI-I input) and a samsung HD-850 (which has hdmi and component output) and I wonder what is the best way to connect those in order to get the best sound and image quality. Do I need to buy a HDMI to DVI cable to connect the dvd player to the projector and then connect the dvd player to the amplifier via otpical cable or there is no use to do it and I can simply connect everything in component? It looks like this new HDMI is better than component. maybe I shoul take advantage of it as my dvd player has got it...What would you do?
Thank you very much in advance for your help.

O

ozdvduser

Audioholic Intern
Mermose said:
Hello!
I need a little help as I am new in home cinema installation.
I just bought a Yamaha AX-757SE amplifier, a projector Benq pb8250 (which has component and DVI-I input) and a samsung HD-850 (which has hdmi and component output) and I wonder what is the best way to connect those in order to get the best sound and image quality. Do I need to buy a HDMI to DVI cable to connect the dvd player to the projector and then connect the dvd player to the amplifier via otpical cable or there is no use to do it and I can simply connect everything in component? It looks like this new HDMI is better than component. maybe I shoul take advantage of it as my dvd player has got it...What would you do?
Thank you very much in advance for your help.
DVD to PJ via HDMI->DVI cable for video
DVD to Amp via Coax/Optical for Audio (don't forget to set the Amp DVD input for either the Coax/Optical input that you connected it too)

M

Mermose

Audiophyte
Thanks!