Cinema for a Victorian Community Hall

M

MVG

Audiophyte
I am new to Audioholics and would like to ask your advice.
We are a small Town and have a wonderful community Hall that was built in approximately 1890. This Hall acts as a meeting place for community groups. It did, many years ago, act as a Theatre, Cinema and Dance Hall for the community.

The Hall has a Victorian iron-braced vaulted ceiling (wood panelled) and a capacity of approximately 280 people. The acoustics appear to be very good as the building was originally designed as a Theatre. We would like to start a Cinema Club for the community and have already some components that have been obtained recently for Power Point presentations in the Hall.
We have a new, electrically operated drop down screen, enabling a viewing area of 12 x 12 feet. We also have a Canon XEED SX60 multimedia projector. The projector is owned by the community and could, therefore, be used by other groups who have a suitable room and screen. The surround sound system would need to be compatible with the Canon XEED SX60 projector. We have a maximum budget of approximately $4000.

I would appreciate your comments and recommendations for a DVD player, amplifier and wireless speakers to provide a (potentially mobile) Cinema surround sound system.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Nort meaning any disrespect, but with a venue of that size and your expectations being what they are, perhaps a local installer would be your best bet.

But, the first thing he'll tell you is forget wireless speakers. They ain't gonna cut it. He'll explain that to ya.

M

MVG

Audiophyte
Victorian community hall

markw said:
Nort meaning any disrespect, but with a venue of that size and your expectations being what they are, perhaps a local installer would be your best bet.

But, the first thing he'll tell you is forget wireless speakers. They ain't gonna cut it. He'll explain that to ya.