Can I turn a subwoofer off?

A

audioholic_1

Audiophyte
Allright, i am a newb here, I just signed up because I need to take care of this problem. I recently moved into an apartment and I don't want to disturb the neighbors above me. I live on the ground floor.

I have an Altec Lansing ATP 5 speaker system. It is 5 years old. Is there no way to turn off the subwoofer or lower its power... because the bass seems out of place and unruly during slower songs. And even otherwise I cannot seem to figure out how to lower the bass.

I might use it with my iaudio X5 mp3 player or my computer. Here are user reviews of the ATP5... notice how users complain about heavier bass than usual even at the lowest setting. http://www.insidemacgames.com/reviews/user_reviews.php?ID=168

So:
1. How can I lessen the bass.. if not on the hardware, than how so on the software/ mp3s?
2. What can I do to prevent heavy bass from getting into my neighbors homes? I heard suspending them might work? I notice that when I put the subwoofer on my bed, its noticeably lower bass in the next room... but I can't put it there.

So i need your help audioholics :D

brian32672

brian32672

Banned
Here was the quickest thing I could find about a L-Pad, I'm to lazy to type it out. So I found this. This person did it for a center channel, and it will work for the sub. This will give you a general idea. Anyhow they can be picked up at Radio Shack for abot 10-15 dollars...