C

cookiemonster

Audiophyte
any opinions/experiences on buying equipment on ebay?
thanks!

S

sherchlojo

Audioholic Intern
Experience on EBAY

I have had a lot of experience buying on EBAY. So far, I have had very good luck. As far as equipment is concerned, the price you see on EBAY may not be the lowest price out there. When you see something on EBAY, note the price then check the price on other sellers like amazon.com. You may be surprised. To compare prices, good sources are shopping,com or bizrate.com. Also, note the shipping cost. Shipping costs on electronic items can be very expensive. Try to base your price comparisons with the shipping costs included. If you buy from an EBAY seller, look for one with a lot of ratings and with 100% ( or close to it ) positive. If you are planning to buy an expensive piece of equipment, I would advise you to avoid sellers with low feedback numbers, and certainly stay away from ones with a lot of negative ratings. Be sure and check on the sellers' return policy. It may be difficult (or impossible) to return something. As I said, I have had good luck buying on EBAY, and have gotten some real bargains, but it can still be risky. I hope this information helps.

P

pbarach

Enthusiast
eBay can work...

I agree with all of the caveats expressed in the previous message. I have had good luck both buying and selling audio equipment on eBay. It's useful to check completed listings to get an idea of recent prices paid for the equipment you're interested in. I have purchased a complete set of speakers for home theater, a used preamp/tuner, and a used CD changer; all arrived as advertised. The speakers were basically brand-new, and I paid 1/3 less than my local dealer.