Building a whole-home audio system...need advice

B

BrazenAudio

Audiophyte
Hi all,

I am building a home audio system, 6 rooms. I know this will probably not be possible, but my ideal goal would be to:
-Be able to have multiple sources of audio
-Be able to route any source into any room or rooms
-Ideally, accept audio from a PC/tablet/phone through a wifi/data connection

I know this is technically possible, but may require a PC with custom software running to handle audio coming from over the network; and software running on any PC/wifi/device that I want to send sound from. What I dont know is whether there is any pre-built solutions that already can do this; I would rather have that than something I build myself.

I see this as possibly two different components. First; a PC to receive and manage all audio streams coming from network devices; and second a receiver connected to that PC's sound card outputs which drives the speakers.

This is my first attempt at doing something like this, so I really dont know what is out there. Is there anything else out there that may make this task easier? Any hardware out there that possibly does some of these things? I have seen multi-room receivers, but everything seems to require analog inputs and can not take any type of digital signal coming from the local network.

Thanks all

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Spartan
There are tons of whole house audio distribution systems that are out there. The main thing you need to do is actually get the wiring from a central location to the rooms and plan your speakers out accordingly. You also need to decide if you want to put keypads in the room so you have local control, or if you want to force people to go to their phones every single time they want to adjust volume or turn the system on or off or change a source.

Niles, Nuvo, Russound, Crestron, and others also have been making distributed audio systems for YEARS, even decades.