Blasting Metal Isn't As Much Fun

N

Nodens

Audiophyte
I have made the thrift-shop, slap-together effort to build a system in my 20'x20' living room. I run them 2 channels at the front. When I get up to the higher volumes in the -4 dB range, the right speaker pops off for at least 50% of its volume. Even louder drops both of them completely. They try to work and then pop off again. I can deal with it, because it's loud enough without the ear-splitting, but I'm thinking speakers are in my future. I am pretty new to this stuff. Thoughts?
Specs:

Dell Inspiron 3521
Monster Ultra 6ft HDMI Cable
Yamaha RX-V377 Receiver
- 100 Watt - 8 Ohm - at 1 kHz - THD 0.9% - 5 channels
- 70 Watt - 8 Ohm - 20 - 20000 Hz - THD 0.09% - 5 channels
16 GA speaker cables - clean
Sanyo SS-540 8 OHM, 3-way speakers

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
Your AVR isn't terrible powerful. Those speakers look capable but not overly capable. Their design also suggests that they are not the highest-fidelity speakers. What is your goal here, to cleanly blast metal at high volumes? If so, both a speaker upgrade and amplifier upgrade may be in order for you. What is your budget here?

N

Nodens

Audiophyte
Budget is slight. Paying double digits at thrift stores and making stuff work has been the attitude. The music is pretty important to me, so changes might be needed on the financing side.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
That could be the amp limits to an extent, but not sure what pop off means. They continue to play but at lower volume? The avr doesn't go into protection mode, tho? You mention 16g speaker cables "clean", what does that mean?

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member