Best HTIB for around $500. I know they are usually junk. Please HELP!

J

joedog

Audiophyte
I know this thread has probably been on here before but I wanted to updated advise.

I am really trying to stay on a budget here since I have a decent setup in my main family room and just spent a bunch of money finishing my basement. This is for my basement and room is about 15x18. So I need to know the very best Home Theater in a Box for around $500 and I know they are usually junk and not worth it but there has to be one or two that are not that bad. I dont understand all of the terminology but I do want a receiver preferrably without a built in DVD player. I really want a Blue Ray player so a system without a DVD or blue ray is fine and I will just add a Blue ray seperately later.

Am I correct in saying that Onkyo seems to have some of the better HTIB. I also dont want to be limited with stuff like the HDMI pass through, does this really matter? Like I said I am new to all of this.

I have considered putting together seperate components but it keeps becoming too expensive, even if I try to get a refurbished receiver. But you have any good ideas for this approach please let me know.

I hate to spend $500 on something that is not worth it but I dont know what else to do.

I really need some guidance here, please help. Any suggestions are appreciated.

SopRage

SopRage

Audioholic
I think most people think that Onkyo HTIBs are about as "good" as they get. This site just did a review on the Onkyo HT-S5200 that was pretty favorable (it runs a little less than $500 on Amazon).

HDMI pass-though isn't a big deal as long as you're willing to cough up just a few more dollars (not many) for a Toslink cable to carry your audio in tandem with the HDMI.