B&W DB4S very low output! Need help

L

Loyo

Audiophyte
Hey all! So I am new to Hi-Fi and separate components. I finally bought a bowers and Wilkins bookshelf (front left and right), a center channel and rears. I also bought a Rotel 1580 as the amp and a B&W DB4S sub. All components have great output, but the sub sounds really really low. Hardly any output. I thought it was a bad sub so Best Buy changed it out and it has the same result. I’m assuming it’s in my settings. All speakers are at 80Hz for the cross over and set to small. Does anyone have any recommendations? I would really appreciate it.

R

romy

Audiophyte
hi loyo... i have same problem too at first time. try to connect from XLR / balanced cable. rotel rca output impedance too high for db4s. that makes the subwoofer sound low.

L

Loyo

Audiophyte
Thanks you for the reply Romy. What I don’t understand is that when playing certain movies it sounds great and a nice/responsive bass, but when listening to music it is not responsive at all. So what you recommend is not use the RCA? I bought a pretty high warily cable for it, but it’s not preforming very well. What XLR cable brand do you recommend and do y’all sell them?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
If its fine for movies, is it possible your music just doesn't have significant bass content? Sub on music can be more subtle than an in your face thing like some movies have....maybe just boost the sub trim up a few dB in your processor....

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
There are a lot of reasons you might perceive a lack of bass, ranging from source material, sub placement, size of room and size of sub... the list goes on. For starters it looks like you have a fairly small sealed sub. You're just not going to get a lot of deep bass from it. How did you determine placement? That's pretty critical with subs also. Placement can make a huge difference.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi