Advice and or Tips on New HT System

E

EzRidA

Audiophyte
Hi all, I’m new to a real home theatre setup and new to the forum. My current setup and experience is with my very old Aiwa “mini-theatre system” and a 27” Zenith TV. I’ve been doing a lot of reading from posts, reviews, and recommendations. I now come to you, the much more experienced to ask for your advice, comments, and recommendations.

Firstly I’ll be moving into a condo within a few months so that is what this setup will be for. The space is relatively small being just a 1bedroom/1bathroom. The living room is 11’2” x 16’ 10” and attached is an image of the layout.

The TV is the least of my concerns at the moment as it will be the last item I purchase. My original plan for the audio receiver was going to be a Pioneer VSX-815K matched up with the Athena Micra 6 system.

After doing some more reading and research it seemed that perhaps I was better off just spending the little extra money and getting the Pioneer VSX-1015TXK and match that up with the Athena Point5 MKII system. I really don’t know which sub to go for, but I don’t want to push my budget either. I was originally planning on spending around $600 for just the audio side. With what I believe would be the better setup the total comes in around $600 still, but that’s without a sub now. I would ideally like to spend less than $200 for a sub, which would fit well into the room size as well as the system setup.

Please let me know if I am going down a bad path here with my chosen setup or make any recommendations. Also please keep in mind that I honestly can’t spend more than $800 for everything on the audio side of things. I appreciate any help and advice that you can lend to me.

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to make sure I was clear. :)
-Dan

Attachments

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja