Adcom Thermal Protection

N

Nuglets

Full Audioholic
Hi guys...I'm having a slight problem with my Adcom GFA-5200 Stereo amplifier and I'm hoping somebody can help. The amplifier works perfectly fine and I love it for my PC sound system but it goes into thermal protection on one channel once in a while. Now I need to specify what I mean by once in a while so you can better understand my situation. For the last couple of years I have given up on the amp because it normally goes into thermal protection without even giving me a chance to use the left channel. Recently I decided since it's somewhat useless sitting around not working, that I would make an attempt to diagnose the problem and I think I have a fairly good idea what could possibly be causing it but I'm not an expert with circuit boards so I'm not really sure. I looked at the bottom side of the board where the solder is and noticed that it may have been spilled on near the heatsink in the past so I made an attempt to clean it with rubbing alcohol(not sure if that's the best idea but it hasn't hurt anything so far) and right after I did that the amplifier no longer went into thermal protection on the left channel when I turned it on for a bit. Then all the sudden it did it again so I tried cleaning it some more and I also removed a bit of solder from one of the, what I believe are temperature sensors on the heatsink because it looked as if some of the solder was overlapping two pins, and still had no luck for a while. After a bit of giving up and messing with it I decided to tap on the "sensor" that had the solder removed and it worked again for as long as I wished until I turned it off and came back to it a couple of hours later and the protection came on again. I tapped on the sensors a bit more and now it's working as I type this. I feel like it should be an easy fix based on the fact that the amplifier function perfectly fine when it's not going into thermal protection but I really don't know much about c