Adcom GFA 5400 Worth Repair?

D

Deonild

Audiophyte
Hi all,

I picked up an Adcom GFA 5400 2 channel power amp. The amp has a distortion/static that I hear with the music, no static when no music is playing, distortion not noticeable during very light musical parts. Distortion increases with volume and the amp has a distortion LED that flickers at medium-high volume. Verified its not due to source, preamp, speakers, cables or power. Any ideas what the root cause could be?

I have some knowledge of parts/repairs, have soldered new MOSFETs onto a DIY-style headphone amp, however thinking I would bring this to a professional repair shop if there's a possibility it could be something worth repairing. Do the symptoms sound like any common issue? Something expensive for sure like $300? Could it be over $500 repair job? Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited:
BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Did you had a chance to find it's siblings on ebay?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/272881118226
That listing is one of most expensive, tells me that paying $500 or even $300 for repair would not be good investment.
Good news is that both service manual and schematics are easily available online. I'd seek help for someone who could guide to troubleshoot it and don't be shy to look for youtube videos - that's how I fixed my Onkyo AVR and partially my Panasonic plasma TV (partially since doing surface mount level solder for ICs is above my skillset)

D

Deonild

Audiophyte