8K, 4K, Gold plated, HMDI cords - is it worth it?

K

KingSirus

Enthusiast
Hey everybody,

I'm pretty new to online forums, so let me know if this is the right kind of thing I should be posting on here :)

I've recently set up a home cinema system which includes a brand new smart TV, sub and speaker set up.

I'm looking for accessories online and I'm considering buying a gold-plated, 8K HDMI cable with a transfer rate of 48GB per second from this website - https://bunu.tech/bunu-hdmi/home.html

It seems to be a relatively okay price compared to some of the others that I've seen (John Lewis is £99, and there are some online that go up to £2500!!!!) but I wanted to ask: what is the efficacy of this kind of hardware and what kinds of quality difference am I likely to experience?

The TV I have is 8K so I'm presuming I'm better off with a cable that has a high transfer rate?

Josef

Attachments

L

Leemix

Audioholic General
Gold plated doesnt really matter much for HDMI cables. Gold is to avoid corrosion so over time or if its a very hot/humid environment it might be helpful but not needed. It doesnt have to be very expensive either. Get something that is certified to be sure it can do what its supposed to. Its not a bad idea to get the Ultra high speed HDMI cable so you have the higher data speeds capabilities if needed later.
I dont know how Bunu is so cant say but i didn’t see the certified sticker glancing at the site. That doesnt mean it cant do what it says it can but its not officially tested.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

K

KingSirus

Enthusiast
Apparently it's certified but the main thing I was going for was the ultra speed, my TV is 8K so presumed I needed a cable that could handle that kind of data..

Hmmmmmm...

T

TankTop5

Audioholic General
Not sure if they ship international though but you can probably find these on Amazon almost anywhere in the world.

If you can’t find those try Belkin who has been making cables since the Camadore 64 came out.