$7000-$8000 system? need some expertise

J

jrsmith08

Enthusiast
I wanted to get a thread going because I am a rookie and I have a couple bucks that I would like to spend on a decent home theater system. I have been doing research on plasma vs LCD, various speakers and all sorts of stuff on your site. But since you guys are the experts I wanted to seek your advice, and im sure you hear this question a million times on what to buy for the money so here it is for a million + 1. I have $7,000- 8,000 to spend on a system what you audioholics suggest?

I am interested in a TV, wall mounted. There is sufficient indirect light in the room, viewing will be about 10-12 feet away. Furthermore, i am looking for a reciever, dvd, speakers, sub, and any other components I may need. Like everyone else I want to get all I can for my money and thats where I need some advice.

The room is not rectangular but more of an "L" shaped room. The wall the tv will be mounted on is about 15 ft in length. the depth of the room varies from anywhere to 20 - 30 feet. I was thinking 6.1 system, with 3 rear - in-ceiling mounted speakers. I wanted to see what you guys thought for front audio, if it should be in-wall or floor-standing. Space is an issue but not an extreme issue. Also, I feel that the visual quality of the television is more important then super high quality sound, if i should think the other way around don't hesitate to tell me. I will be using comcast digital television if that makes any difference.

I would greatly appreciate any advice you may have, and I would like to thank you for any help in advance.

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
Hello,

I would first figure out a few things.

1-How much of your budget is going to a TV?
2-Forget electronics right now and figure out a speakers budget.
3-Once speaker budget is figured out, you can budget your gear. Also figure out what gear to drive the speakers you'll need.

For a DVD player I would look here,