5.1 Surround question

V

Vlatko

Audiophyte
hi! i'm a total newbie in this area and i found this place, where i hope to get some answers. as i said i'm not into this so bear with me if my questions sound stupid.

i have a genius 5.1 wood system and i'm quite pleased with it. for my needs it does the trick. what i'd like to know more about is the centre speaker, by default it's turned off in my creative control panel. why is that and should i leave it turned off, what difference does it make? is it better to watch movies with it on or off? i didn't notice much difference while watching movies, except maybe when it's on it seems like most of the voice comes out of the centre speaker, i could be wrong though :)

one more thing, i was reading your article on calibrating a 5.1 system and i would like to do it, the only thing is i don't know how. how do i set the delay times, is there a programme for that or what?

hope someone has the time to answer me. :)

M

mfabien

Senior Audioholic
A Center channel is very much appropriate for movies. You then get most of the dialog in the Center channel. For concerts in Dolby Digital, you would get the main performer (signer or instrument player) in the Center channel.

For playing Cd's I would recommend to play it in Stereo and subwoofer shutting down other speakers (unless you can select audio modes such as Stereo or Dolby Digital 5.1). If your card enables DTS 5.1, that is best.

I see in your model's specs the following:

"Functions: Master Vol., Center Vol., Surround Vol., Subwoofer Vol., CD/VCD/DVD Mode, AC3 CH Mode, Tape Mode and TV Mode."

You already have a speaker balance control in your computer's audio panel (left and right). Your speaker application provides you with volume controls for other speakers. My sense is that you should adjust volume for your system by ear and forget distances and delays. And for your subwoofer in accordance with your own taste.