320 bitrate vs FLAC (distinguishable differences)?

A

andurilnarsil1

Enthusiast
HI all,

Newbie here.

Should I be able to hear a noticeable improvement in audio quality when listening to flac music files (vs 320 bitrate)?

Some peeps say no, while others say it depends on how good my hearing is, and the quality of my audio equipment.

So, my hearing is pretty good, and I generally notice subtle differences in sound quality. Also, I'm running B/Ws CM9s which are half descent speakers (and very transparent) IMO.

Is there a definitive answer on this? Seems like it's one of those touchy subjects for audio community.

Thanks!
Andy

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Arguably B&W value CM9 are hardly transparent. I would more likely call them unnecessary bright and definitely not very neutral. That said, you and many others do like B&W signature sound, but using them for reference playback, I won't suggest so. If you can't yet afford real reference speakers, you might want to consider getting near reference headphones - this would be much more affordable.

You should do forums search. We'd raised this exact subject time and time again. And why this is an issue? Both bandwidth and storage had gotten exponentially better in few years. If you constrained for space on mobile device or car audio - go ahead and use lossy compressed files - you won't hear any difference, but do keep lossless FLACs around - as on really good speakers and good recorded music you will hear difference clearly.

vsound5150

vsound5150

Audioholic
I can hear the difference between flac or other lossless music compared to compressed. What I hear is a more full sound and instruments separated and very clear. But not so much if using those cheap white earbuds that Apple provides with iPods/phones.