2 channel or 3 channel amplifier

S

steelydan75

Enthusiast
I’m a novice Disabled guy on a budget with a pair of Golden Ear Triton 7’s and a Denon avrx4100w GE super Center x and Paradigm surrounds from previous Cinema series 110 and would like some feedback on whether to get 2 channel or 3 channel amp and Wherher a 3 channel amp can run into 2 channels switching from movies to 2 channel listening? Would like some amp suggestions power ratings and if anyone’s had any luck with used or if I should save for new? Thanks guys.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
What are you hoping to gain by adding an amp to the mix? The 4100 has a pretty decent power supply. You know you can double your amplifier power and only gain 3 dB? Most folks don't expect that. Here is a cool little tool we love to play with here at AH that calculates SPL for you at a given wattage. Just fill in the values in the boxes and click "calculate". It'll give you an idea of how much power you really use. Most of the time I'd say most of us hardly ever use more than a couple of watts at a time.

If you want like, a sound quality upgrade I don't see a subwoofer listed in your gear... big opportunity there! Subwoofers don't just add thump and boom. In fact a good sub should never be boomy unless there's a boom to reproduce! I know your towers have powered bass sections but they're not true "sub"-woofers and I think you would realize a meaningful improvement.

S

steelydan75

Enthusiast
Thanks for the reply. I forgot to add that I have a 10” Paradigm sub and two height speakers facing upwards behind the TV all three speakers also from the Paradigm cc110 box set. I’m in a wheelchair after an assault so movies and music list are my new hobby. I’m looking to get a fuller soundstage and get better lower volume sound and heighten my listening experience. Great calculator link.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord