Can you help me diagnose a problem with my subwoofer?

mike88931

mike88931

Audiophyte
LONG DETAILED EXPLANATION: Since I am posting in the audiophyte section you can probably guess that I am new to this kind of thing. I recently built a very nice computer and decided to get what was supposed to be a very good stereo speaker/sound card combination (for the price) to accompany it. I have the Corsair SP2500 speakers and a Xonar Essence STX sound card. I was loving them soooo much until I began to play some verry bass heavy songs in an attempt to really test out the sub. These speakers are supposed to be able to get loud enough to shake my room and maintain zero distortion so I was pretty pumped. However, to my dismay, when I did play some bass heavy songs with the subwoofer volume all the way up, and the main volume at only one third of the way up (which was loud enough to hurt my ears) I heard, and always do hear, a really annoying gurgling sound that almost resembles a very low pitched fart. It annoys the hell out of me and I do not know what it is. I know it is not blown, because I can get back the clean, pristine, and non distorted bass immediately by turning it down to the same level every time. It does not need to be turned down progressively more to get the sound to go away the longer I play it at a loud volume. I dont think it is part of the song and is supposed to sound that way either, because it just sounds bad and it goes away if i turn down the volume. I do not want to see if it gets worse the more I turn up thje bass because I live in a condo and really play it too loud as it is (when I am testing my bass). Besides, I dont want to blow out my ears XD. I am willing to do this if it is absolutely necessary though. I have some video evidence that may help that I will post later on in this thread but it sounds alot different considering it was recorded with an iPhone, the best I have lol (only got an iphone instead of an open source android because it was f