moves

moves

Audioholic Chief
How do you find the build quality of Emotiva compared to Pioneer Elite? Which do you think is the better bang for the buck?

moves

moves

Audioholic Chief
SOmeone here must have some experience with both of these products? Gene?

moves

moves

Audioholic Chief
Not a specific model comparison, just overall machine.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Have they completely fixed the problems that plagued the Emotiva pre-pro? I would go with Pioneer personally. Emo has good amps, but I just don't have a good feeling about their pre-pros.

Last edited:
Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Hi, moves. I've been using a Pioneer Elite VSX-23 since 2009, and two Emotiva amps since 2007.

The Pioneer Elite is built well and looks sharp (although they have since moved away from the shiny face plate on the Elites). I had an occasional issue with the remote control not powering the unit up, but a firmware update fixed that. My only real annoyance in regards to build quality with the Pioneer is that two rows of buttons on the remote have been difficult to use since probably after a year of use. Other than that, no complaints at all. The Elite replaced a Pioneer VSX-1015 (the top non-Elite model at the time), which also worked great for me.

I've expressed my issues with Emotiva before, so I'll keep this brief. The chassis on the amps are built solidly and look nice. It's difficult to hear any noise at the speakers when nothing is playing, and they sound good to me. My major hardware issue is that the toroidal transformers hum. The ones in the RPA-1 aren't too bad. They've gotten louder with time, but so has my Pioneer. The ones in the IPS-1 are, IMO, just poor quality and should have been caught in production. Being able to hear an amp in standby mode from across the room just isn't right - and Emotiva never made it right. I should have eaten the return shipping and been rid of it years ago.