Onkyo, Marantz, or Yamaha

S

sab7896

Audiophyte
I'm new to this and would greatly appreciate some help. I'm looking to buy a new receiver. I will not be using surround sound for the time being but I would like to at least make use of 2 speakers for better stereo tv sound. I'll be using these same speakers (Polk RC80i) for music. I have a 60" Panasonic GT50. Receiver must handle 3D.

Models I'm considering:

Onkyo TX-NR616 or 515
Marantz SR5006 or 6006
Yamaha RX-A720

All of these are more then I currently need but I want a quality receiver and one that will keep me from buying another one 2 years from now. The best value might be the Onkyo... newegg has the 616 for $409 and the 515 for $372.

S

sab7896

Audiophyte
No takers? I'll take another approach... talk me out of buying the Marantz SR5007 ($850). Convince me it's not worth twice as much as the Onkyo TX-NR616.

A

ACsGreens

Full Audioholic
I would buy the Yamaha, no doubt about it. IMO, they are more reliable, have better power supplies and layout, and the YPAO is not too bad either. Easy to use or have the ability to get into more detailed setup. Once again, just my opinion, but you did ask.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
There's nothing wrong with any of those, as long as they have the features/connections that you want (and think that you'll want later on). Onkyo has had some quality issues lately, but I don't know the percentage of purchasers that have problems.