new svs PC12-NSD... underwhelmed.

J

jmvdude

Audiophyte
Hello.

As the title says, I just got in a new SVS PC12-NSD to go with my Denon 2311 receiver and Klipsch RF-62 II L+R. This is my first time having a sub for my home stereo. My room is large, opening up to a kitchen and a sloping roof to a second story game room. I primarily bought the sub for music, although it will be used with movies as well.

There are definitely qualities of the sub that I like, it seems to reproduce a wide range of frequencies and does deliver clean sound... but basically its not enough. When listening to A Perfect Circle's "Thomas", I have my normal listening volume and adjust the sub to where I feel I want it and it does okay... and then 2/3rds of the way through the song a repeating low bass punch kicks in, and while I hear it, it doesn't give the impact I was expecting. (This expectation was mostly set by listening in my car (a modest 8" sub) and from listening on a friends yamaha system.) Unless I lower the gain from my previous setting at this point the limiter light is on any time the low note occurs.

My crossover is set to 80hz on the receiver, the sub's crossover is disabled. I used 6 positions with Audessy MultiEQ to set up parameters, and then set my speakers to 'small' in the menu. I experimented with several different positions for the sub, and wound up with it on its side about 4 inches from the back of my couch (listening position).

I'm trying to decide what to do now. I don't want to keep something I spent $800 on (a lot to me) when its not what I want... Should I consider upgrading to a PC12-Plus (which costs a WHOLE lot to me)? Or a different brand altogether? Or maybe my expectations for a sub are unrealistic and I should try and be content with my klipsch speakers (which I like a lot).

Any input is welcome, thanks.

agarwalro

agarwalro

Audioholic Ninja
Man that sucks! But, lets make sure it is truly insufficient before upgrading the puppy.