B&W Identification Questions...

Monkeyfister

Monkeyfister

Audiophyte
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here, and am deeply impressed with the collected wisdom on these pages... WOW.

Here's a fun situation:

I just couldn't pass up a bid on a pair of "B&W DM600 Series" speakers (see images below).

So, I got the pair for US$103.00, which may or may not be a good price, but, my itchy bidding finger...

Heh, now that they are mine, is there anyone out there who can tell me a little bit about them? What years were they sold? Power rating? Are they comparable at *all* with the DM600 S3s? Are there noticeable advantages to them? Disadvantages? Freq. Response/range/sensitivity?

Can you tell that this was an impulse buy that I never expected to win?

I'm a bit concerned about the two little dings that I see in the surround of one of the woofers, but, the seller says they work perfectly... I can practically see the distortion around those scars, but, who knows)...

I'll be using them with my new NAD T743 (just purchased for US$499.00 sold w/a B&W 2000 IFS center)-- aaahhh, that debbil eBay... I've got a pair of AR 2052's that I'm going to try to pass off as rear speakers for now, and I've got a decent older JBL 10" subwoofer for now. I just started on this new upgrade spiral, beginning with the NAD... I'm looking to rotate in, new B&W DM601s to the Front and the older 600s to the rears...

Any background on these older B&W speakers would surely be appreciated.

Thank you in advance...

Tony B.

Attachments

Last edited:
corysmith01

corysmith01

Senior Audioholic
Hey Tony-

Not sure these are exactly it, but I downloaded the spec sheet for the DM600i, which look strikingly similar in the picture. You can found this info on the B&W back catalogue portion of the site. Here it is:

http://www.bwspeakers.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/products.backcatalogue/Label/Range DM600 Series