How to develop "golden ears"

E

EYEdROP0

Audioholic
Since I was very young, I started to listen to music for its "emotion" and "detail". I started playing the guitar at 10 and know a fair amount about music theory. I can easily pick apart a song note for note on key and transcript it. This is where I started to notice small details in music and sought after hearing these details as best as possible. I remember messing with EQ's, wiring speakers to amps that simply dont go together, and using software to enhance stereo effect. I was young, stupid, but I tried.

Over the years of trial and much error, a metal band music producer told me to use no EQ and get a good set of speakers and amp. I thought about it for a long time, then it all made perfect sense to me. Now I dont have to go into why a flat response is good, but you all get the idea. Onto developing the golden ears....

Low level musical information is were all the details in music are. Many recordings have different volume levels on certain instruments, parts of the song, and have ambience and a sense of "being" in the music. The sounds are also dispersed differently in the soundstage, thus giving you positions of the sounds in recordings. The first step you should take is being able to hear even the most very quiet sounds with ease. Many people pass these sounds off as being almost in-audible for a reason (for instance, someone that listens to music for background noise). But remember that detail adds emotion to your listening experience, and the amount of low level information in most music is almost incomprehensible.

There are several factors in your gear and room that influence the sound, but yours ears are very important in determining proper sound. The best thing to do is listen to music with alot of detail and listen in lossless if possible.