Audio Industry Employment

sgtpepper9

sgtpepper9

Audioholic
How difficult is it to find a job in the audio industry designing speakers? I'm majoring at school in mechanical engineering and am thinking it would be an exciting job. Anyone here working in the audio industry? Any advice on hooking up with a company?

J

jamie2112

Banned
Hey there Srgntpepper, I work in the live sound industry and speaker companies are always looking for people. If you want to get into HT speaker design I am not as sure as to whats out there but I am sure you can find something with a degree in engineering. Do something that makes you happy, life is too short to have a job you don't like....:D

sgtpepper9

sgtpepper9

Audioholic
Do something that makes you happy, life is too short to have a job you don't like....:D
That's my exact thinking. I'm getting my masters in engineering studying vibration control. I am pretty excited about it and really enjoy music and sound. I just don't know where to look...

C

chadnliz

Senior Audioholic
I would be cautious about making a career out of a hobby, you may end up losing both in the end. Nevermind the fact its a extremely difficult business with an always questionable future and most things are simply re-tooled ideas that have been around forever. I would never tell anyone to not follow the dream and wish you luck and fortune if you decide to try it.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
...life is too short to have a job you don't like...
So true. Strangely, though, you can make life feel much longer by having a job that you don't like 'cause everyday feels like a freaking eternity.

I would be cautious about making a career out of a hobby, you may end up losing both in the end.
A good point. Things are fun...until they become work. Some people are able to keep the joy in it, and others aren't.

As stated, though, best of luck in whatever you choose.

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
Things are fun...until they become work.