PS3 dts cd music playback settings

Semper Fidelis

Semper Fidelis

Enthusiast
What settings do i have to do to get dts cd's work on my PS3 connected via tosslink to an Onkyo505e and 5.1 speaker sistem?
Please go easy on me...i'm a noob ... :D
Also please talk to me like i'm a four years old (meaning that i humbly request for a step by step directions "go to the xxx settings and there you'll find xxx ")
THANK YOU MUCH !!!

MinusTheBear

MinusTheBear

Audioholic Ninja
With C.D's i am not sure you can play the multichannel format DTS, i know for a fact you can play pro logicII with C.D's and other pro logic formats. I think you can only play DTS sound through DVD's...I am not 100% sure so maybe someone can clarify this!

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
What settings do you currently have? Getting DTS to work can be a pain because there are a few settings that affect it. At the very least, you have to have it set to DTS: on and digital has to be set to bitstream rather than PCM; both should be in the optical digital setup screens.

Semper Fidelis

Semper Fidelis

Enthusiast
What settings do you currently have? Getting DTS to work can be a pain because there are a few settings that affect it. At the very least, you have to have it set to DTS: on and digital has to be set to bitstream rather than PCM; both should be in the optical digital setup screens.
My currently settings are:
-BD Audio Output Format (Optical Digital) => Bitstream
-Audio CD Output Frequency => 44.1 / 88.2 / 176.4 kHz
-Bitmapping => Type 1
-Audio Output Settings => Digital Out (Optical) => I didn't select anything as audio output formats because i want to let the receiver deal with the decoding issue.
That is all ...
P.S. I have to mention that dts cd used to work a while ago but all of a sudden all that has gone ...

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi