boboi

boboi

Junior Audioholic
I'm quite new to the world of speakers and am currently in the market looking for some tower speakers to use as my mains in my setup. The JBL Venue Series Stadiums (dual 8" 3 way speaker) got rave reviews on amazon.com- and for the current price- it seems like a steal- $126.99/ speaker. My question is, does anyone know if the speakers truly live up to all the hype? Or can anyone offer reccomendations for nice tower speakers that won't kill my wallet? Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated-thanks in advance!

J

Joe Schmoe

Audioholic Ninja
Speakers are often described as above or below average for the price. I would call those JBls exactly average for the price.

Halon451

Halon451

Audioholic Samurai
I agree with Joe on this one. I got suckered into the JBL Venue line on account of my experience with JBL's Pro-Line audio gear, which is quite good. Apparently the "trickle-down" quality isn't quite what they would like you to believe. It's my own fault, but the best thing you've done so far is come to this forum to ask advice. I didn't do so, before I started my spending spree, then I had to backtrack and ended up wasting time and money that could have been spent on better speakers initially.

Many here will steer you towards the AV123 X-series for the price range you're looking for. I just placed an order for 3 AV123 X-cs'sf for my HT setup, and I hope that it will blow the JBL Venue series out of the water.

furrycute

furrycute

Banned
I just placed an order for 3 AV123 X-cs'sf for my HT setup, and I hope that it will blow the JBL Venue series out of the water.
You can't be serious. You "hope?" Now we are basing our judgement on audio quality based on "hope?"

If anything, I am 100% positive those JBL's with their dual 8 inch woofers will blow those av123 speakers out of the water, bass for bass, decibel for decibel.

Warpdrv

Warpdrv

Audioholic Ninja