Not real happy with new sub

I

ifsixwasnin9

Audioholic
My audio system is a Yamaha 100W Integrated Amp (about 8 yrs old w/Pure Direct and CD/DVD Direct Buttons which bypass the bass/treble/loudness for "Pure" sound), Carver preamp, JBL L110 speakers.
I love the L110s because they have VERY realistic vocals/highs, good midrange but the bass is not nearly as defined as I would like.
So people in another forum suggested I get a sub and connect it to speaker level inputs in my Integrated Amp (in the main speaker outputs "A"). Guys in the other forum recommended the Monoprice sub.
(I know it sounds weird that I have an Integrated Amp AND a Preamp. I'm not sure why I bought the Preamp - I don't know much about audio even though I'm an engineer. But I love the Preamp because it has a Midrange control which comes in VERY handy.)
I bought a Monoprice 400W 12" sub (downfiring) and followed instructions to set it up. I have the volume of the sub turned to a little more than halfway and its low pass filter set to 60HZ. And sub is a few feet from the wall in-between the L110s in a room that is about 13 wide x 18 long x 7.5 high. The L110s are several feet from the wall and on stands about 1 ft above the floor.
The Monoprice sub is not well-defined at all, doesn't feel like it makes much of an improvement in the music and sounds very muddy.
I compared many subs online (and read many reviews) and the only subs I could really afford were the Monoprice or Klipsch or maybe a Velodyne sub (I'm on a VERY tight budget because I'm on disability.) I got the Monoprice sub for $250 new.
I listen to a lot of hard rock like Cream, Judas Priest, Sabbath, Robin Trower, Joe Satriani, ZZ Top, The Doors, Van Halen, Santana, Hendrix, etc. and the JBLs are hard-hitting, imo.