A

_Alex_

Enthusiast
Hello all,

I am willing to purchase an AVR to upgrade my system.
Basically I have a pair of floorstanding speakers with a HiFi amplifier, but I would like to add a subwoofer for everyday listening + a center speaker for movies.
When listening to music, the AVR would be used as a preamp / source selector and send the signal to 2 power amp: one for the speakers, the other one for the sub.
Some AVR propose "pure direct", or "straight" modes.
As I am very new with AVR, I would like to know if it is possible to have full range unaltered signal at preout?

I indeed have a DSP that would be in charge of the crossover and the Eq.

I tried to read the manuals but unfortunatly it is still not clear to me.

I plan to get a second hand amp, like the marantz NR1608/1609/1610, the yamaha RX-v781/785 or the denon x3500/3600
For the yamaha rx-v781 for example, it seems that Music mode -> stereo - > 7ch would do the job. But still, not sure if HPF or LPF is mandatory

Any help is welcomed!!

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
Hello all,

Basically I have a pair of floorstanding speakers with a HiFi amplifier, but I would like to add a subwoofer for everyday listening + a center speaker for movies.
When listening to music, the AVR would be used as a preamp / source selector and send the signal to 2 power amp: one for the speakers, the other one for the sub.
As I am very new with AVR, I would like to know if it is possible to have full range unaltered signal at preout?

I plan to get a second hand amp, like the marantz NR1608/1609/1610, the yamaha RX-v781/785 or the denon x3500/3600
For the yamaha rx-v781 for example, it seems that Music mode -> stereo - > 7ch would do the job. But still, not sure if HPF or LPF is mandatory

Any help is welcomed!!