Novice Loudspeaker Rebuild

K

krolholio

Audiophyte
Newbie here. So, I built a set of speakers 30 years ago when I was a senior in high school. Between several moves during college, they took a fair amount of use and abuse, and ultimately took up residency at my parents for at least a decade and a half. The cabinets (3/4" A or B grade plywood) are in great shape - the components, not so much. The existing components are all Radio Shack/Realistic, some of which no longer function. My winter project is to rebuild with new components, and possibly make some slight mods that might help them. I'm sure just about whatever componentry I use will likely be better than the Radio Shack stuff I cobbled together back then. Please remember that we didn't really put much design into these, and are what amounted to a high schooler thought was cool in 1991.
Cabinets measure 21.5"W x 33"H x 13" deep and are completely open inside. We did put a 1.5" (inside diameter) port on the front face, which is about 3.5" in length. Woofer was 15" diameter (13-7/8" rough opening), midrange was 4-1/2" (3-3/4" rough opening), and tweeter was 4-1/4" (3-5/8" rough opening). I don't know what to say about the crossover or the connectors at the back, but I'd anticipate replacing those as well. Attaching some photos for reference.
Any thoughts on possible cabinet modifications (not necessarily looking at extensive, since I don't think I can take them apart easily), as well as components to consider would be welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The drivers are all functional? Can you obtain the T/S parameters for those various drivers you used so you can at least put some design into it?

K

krolholio

Audiophyte