Joined the passive subwoofer club

CajunLB

CajunLB

Senior Audioholic
I just burned another $600 Dayton Audio plate amp. Thanks to @AcuDefTechGuy and his steady pushing on the pro’s of using separate subwoofer amplification I have decided to join the club and just purchased a Crown xls1502. I couldn’t justify getting the behringer because of the extra parts that need to be bought for the fan mods and cable adapters.The only thing I am worried about is a highpass for protection.. Oh I made a pretty good deal too 350 plus 6 year warranty.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Yeah I’ve been using passive subs with external amps for almost 30 years. I’ve never used high-pass filter either.

I think only people who have blown woofers are the same people who had blown tweeters and midrange also.

But for many of us who listen to good volume (loud, but not too dangerous), I don’t think we need to worry.

30 years without any blown woofers or tweeters.

The Crown and Yamaha amps have HP.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The Crown amps high pass filter doesn't go low enough to be useful for protection below tuning for a ported sub. From the manual for the gen 2 XLS amps :

The PureBand Crossover System provides a variable state Linkwitz-Riley 24dB/octave filter allowing you to choose a point between 30Hz and 3kHz on standard 1/12th octave centers. Three filter types are available: Low Pass, High Pass and Band Pass.

You'd need to add sufficient dsp like in the form of a minidsp or similar. This is the one advantage of the Behringer amps that included such dsp....

Otherwise I've enjoyed my several XLS amps for use for subs or mains....

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
The Crown amps high pass filter doesn't go low enough to be useful for protection below tuning for a ported sub.
HP of 30Hz with 24dB slope is not low enough for protection? Or not preferred?

Maybe 30Hz HP is not "preferred".