Need help considering options

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Curious, how did you set levels to match your speakers? You may just be running the sub too hot?

P

Parallax982

Enthusiast
Curious, how did you set levels to match your speakers? You may just be running the sub too hot?
I'm not sure. First I adjusted the gain to try to match the A5+'s so the sub would come in where the speakers roll off (hope I'm using the term correctly) and then I took the volume down to where I couldn't hear the sub and then turned it back up just above that point so I'd hear it just a little. I wanted an nice integrated sound; not a powerful thumpy mess. But I'm no expert and could have messed it up. Would you recommend lowering the volume or adjusting the gain?

P

Parallax982

Enthusiast
Just got off the phone with a guy named Kevin at Hsu. He is great. Spent a lot of time with me. He's going to send me some frequency files to play for my wife. He suggested that if her problem is in a certain range, there's not going to be a way to correct it. Not with an isolation pad or by adjusting the sub. But if it's in another range, then the adjustments on the sub may do it. So one more thing to mess with.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
As to the "tuning" capabilities of subs like the Hsu and some others, not particularly. If she can't handle the frequency range of your current sub, then unlikely the deeper tuning variability of the Hsu would help out.
That's what I'm thinking too. If she doesn't like bass then she doesn't like bass. You can't tune it to have good bass, but also not bother someone who hates bass. That's like tryna make a square circle.

Does she just hate it in general or mainly when she's in her usual seat? If she happens to be sitting in a peak spot then there may be something you can do. If it's just that she doesn't like bass period then there really isn't much you can do.