Mixing and matching speakers

C

ChazC59

Audiophyte
I've never built out a HT before. I have various components that I've used for music and/or TV but it's essentially always been in stereo or 3.1. I have a pair of vintage JBL L100 Century speakers. I would like to use these as my front L & R pair. I have a pair of M & K bookshelfs I'd like to use as my rears and an inexpensive Velodyne sub. I need to add a center. I'm going to use my Pioneer VSX-919AH receiver initially. I have an LG 55" 4K UHD TV. I realize this is a hodgepodge of gear but am I kidding myself thinking this will all sound okay when put together? Tonally I know it could be all over the place. Any suggestions for a center speaker? What about a sub upgrade and a receiver upgrade? If I did all three at once I'd like to keep the number somewhere under $1,500. For the receiver I would probably go 7.2 so I would have the option of adding ATMOS speaks at some point. Thanks in advance for your input.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
I'm not familiar with your speakers, but after a quick search it appears your JBLs are still fetching a pretty penny on the used market. Using a different brand for surround speakers is perfectly fine, but you do want try to match the front 3. That may be the challenge here. Ideally a third L100 would be perfect, but also perfectly impractical, lol. I would contact JBL and see if they have any suggestions. There's always just going with a phantom center too, which I've found works just about as well unless you're sitting way off to the side.

As far as the receiver, that's going to depend on a few things. If your current receiver is capable of doing what you want to now, there's no real need to change it unless you're outdated or limited.

In closing I think that yes, your system has potential to sound pretty good! If you're happy with the JBLs I think a sub upgrade would be my next move. How big is your room?

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.