Turntable Questions

Cos

Cos

Audioholic Samurai
I decided to take the plunge, relive my youth and purchase a turntable. I recently came into a large collection of a records and thought now may be the time to try it out. (no 78s)

I didn't want to spend a lot, but wanting something that would be upgradable a bit, so decided on Pro-Ject EVO Turntable. I am a complete noob on Vinyl so I relied a lot on my google machine :)

1. The older version came with ORTOFON - 2M Red Replacement Stylus and the EVO, which has some nice upgrades comes but now it comes with Sumiko Rainier Stylus - Is this a better Stylus?
  2. Can I safely assume that the phono input is fine on my pre/pro?
Thanks!

Last edited:
killdozzer

killdozzer

Audioholic Samurai
Pro-Jects are really good and praised all over. Rainier is a rather new cart, I really don't know. It is almost certain that today's decks will work nicely over the phono input, but you might wanna just check it anyway. It's not that hard. Your Sumiko requires 47kOhm Load Impedance which is almost a standard in today's amps and avr's.

What's your pre/pro?

killdozzer

killdozzer

Audioholic Samurai
I found some of this to be an interesting read (about your cartridge):

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
I decided to take the plunge, relive my youth and purchase a turntable. I recently came into a large collection of a records and thought now may be the time to try it out. (no 78s)

I didn't want to spend a lot, but wanting something that would be upgradable a bit, so decided on Pro-Ject EVO Turntable. I am a complete noob on Vinyl so I relied a lot on my google machine :)

1. The older version came with ORTOFON - 2M Red Replacement Stylus and the EVO, which has some nice upgrades comes but now it comes with Sumiko Rainier Stylus - Is this a better Stylus?
  2. Can I safely assume that the phono input is fine on my pre/pro?
Thanks!