Best bang for Buck, 11 Channel AVR

fast fred

fast fred

Full Audioholic
Hello All - so I need a dedicated 11 channel AVR for my room - Are my only choices the Denon 6700 and Marantz 8015?

I dont want to go more than I need to - probably up to $2500

It would be pushing all SVS speakers - Ultras, Pinnacle Towers, Elevation Heights and Ultra 16 Sub

Thanks for any advice.

Cheers

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
You looking for 11 channels of amp particularly or just processing?

fast fred

fast fred

Full Audioholic
You looking for 11 channels of amp particularly or just processing?
Sorry I don't understand the question, I always thought a system needed a dedicated AVR to run it - I am new to experimenting with adding multiple units to run different speakers etc

Sorry

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Well avrs aren't the only way, you could use a dedicated pre-amp/processor (pre-pro) along with power amps if you wanted an alternate to the avr alone, or you can use pre-outs on an avr for additional amps needed if the processing capability is there. I have an avr suitable for 11ch of processing but only has 9 on board amp channels, I would need to use an external amp to get all 11.

fast fred

fast fred

Full Audioholic
So whats a good pre amp and avr setup to get all 11 channels?

Also I see the pre amp from Marantz MM7025 doesnt have speaker inputs on the back - how do I hook them up?

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Well, the 6700 you cite has 11 on board amp channels so that could be stand alone. The 4700 has 9 on board channels of amp but with an external amp can process 11ch.