Need help with room size changes

C

chase14

Audiophyte
Hi. I’m very new to this so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

I recently moved to a new place (temporarily). My old house had a small theater room (187 sq ft), but the new one is over 800 sq ft. Not being an audiophile (but learning to appreciate good sound), I have a HTIB system from Samsung (HT-J5500W Home Theater System). The 1000w was more than enough for the old place, and for the most part it’s fine for now in the new place. The issue is the surround speakers. The viewing distance from the TV is only about 12 ft, but that means the rear speakers are too far away to really be heard. I don’t have the ability to move them closer so they will have to stay on the back wall unfortunately.
I would like some advice on how to make it so I can hear the surround speakers without replacing the whole system or spending a ton of money. Like I said this is a temporary place, and I cannot say what my next place will be like, so I don’t want to spend a lot only to have to change everything again in a year. It would be ideal if I could simply do something like upgrade the two surround speakers.
Anyone have any suggestions?

I’m not sure if this is allowed but here is a link to the system I have https://www.samsung.com/us/televisions-home-theater/home-theater/home-theater-systems/ht-j5500w-home-theater-system-ht-j5500w-za/

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Since they are just effects speakers it won't make much difference but I'd see if the menu allows you to raise the channel levels of the speakers and just boost those.

C

chase14

Audiophyte
Since they are just effects speakers it won't make much difference but I'd see if the menu allows you to raise the channel levels of the speakers and just boost those.
Thanks for the reply.
It does allow channel level adjusting, and that helped a bit but not enough to make any difference sadly.

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Thanks for the reply.