New to Understanding Room Correction & Measuring

MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Senior Audioholic
Hello all,

Thank you for taking a moment to take a look at this. I appreciate your time. I am new to measuring and trying to slowly creep into a little better understanding of how measuring works, what it represents and how to use it for room correction and/or a little equalization to correct for the room. I'm practicing in my office on a 2 channel setup, near field without a sub-woofer (I have one, but am not using it for this exercise yet, one step at a time) simply to get some experience doing this, using software and understanding it all. Any guidance or correction would be greatly appreciated! I have already read a few articles and tutorials and watched a few videos to at least try to have a better vocabulary and understand a bit more about what's going on, but I am not an engineer nor do I have any background in sound science other than being a life long audio-enthusiast (without golden ears though). I mainly do critical listening with headphones, have a stereo setup in my office and then my home theater. Most of this exercise is to help me understand what I'm doing when it comes to room correction and equalization when it comes to my home theater as I will be building a new home soon and will have a dedicated room for audio so I'm preparing for that (though it will not be a totally custom room, likely a garage converted to a finished room and then I can treat the inside but likely will not be able to control dimensions beyond a blueprint).

TL;DR: I'm trying to practice measuring my office and doing room correction equalization to understand how to read the graphs, understand what's happening in the room and how to potentially approach correcting the room or the equalization to get a flatter response as an exercise in an imperfect room with imperfect placement.

I have started with:
Polk Monitor 30 II Books x 2 via AudioSource AMP 100 & MaverickAudio TubeMagic D2