Help/Opinions on Polk or Monitor Audio Speakers

C

CaptainWhoopAss

Audiophyte
Hello all. I am new to this forum, and wanted to ask some advice on speakers. I am trying to decide between the Polk Audio Rtia7 or the Monitor Audio Bronze 5 speakers. I am on a bit of a budget, and both are similarly priced. The Polks are available from a large retailer and offered with an optional warranty at $600. The Monitor Audios are coming from across country so returns are out of the question and are about $700.
I am using the speakers as my primary speakers and primarily for music (rock, punk, jazz, etc.).
My receiver is a Cambridge Audio AXR100.

Does anyone have any experience with these speakers? Unfortunately, I don't have an option of auditioning either set. I want something with a good deal of bass, but not at the expense of good sound quality.

I would love any opinions!

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
I'm still learning about Monitor Audio, but from what I understand their bronze series is entry level and most would step up to silver. You're on a budget tho, so... I think I'd get the RTi's. It sounds like you could return those if you don't like them? If so that's a no brainer. Try them out. If you don't like them then return them and you can go with the bronze speakers.

Bucknekked

Bucknekked

Audioholic Samurai
Hello all. I am new to this forum, and wanted to ask some advice on speakers. I am trying to decide between the Polk Audio Rtia7 or the Monitor Audio Bronze 5 speakers. I am on a bit of a budget, and both are similarly priced. The Polks are available from a large retailer and offered with an optional warranty at $600. The Monitor Audios are coming from across country so returns are out of the question and are about $700.
I am using the speakers as my primary speakers and primarily for music (rock, punk, jazz, etc.).