Opinions on KEF LSX Wireless Active Speakers

R

Ras777

Audioholic
I have a friend of mine who asked me my opinion of these speakers. Since I have no experience with active/ wireless speakers I thought I would put this out to the experts. He is in his early sixties and has no interest in buying an amplifier or put up with unsightly wires. These would be for streaming music in his living room. I would not consider him a audiophile but he does want a high quality speaker and was willing to spend $3000 for two speakers. My first impression was they seem very expensive for a small bookshelf. Any opinions or suggestions would be appreciated. Also would he also need a small sub to complement even a good bookshelf speaker?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
No experience but why not the slightly larger LS50W instead? I'd still want a sub myself with either....but that would depend more on his tastes than mine.

S

shkumar4963

Audioholic
A sub will be a must.

Also these wireless speakers require some familiarity with streaming, apps etc. If the friend does not want to deal with AVR, then he may not be comfortable with apps and streaming formats.

I feel amplifier and speakers are more intuitive and easier to handle for non computer literates.

Someone else can set then up and after that if you know how to operate a remote, you can use them

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
Another thing to consider is that speakers of this type typically require a robust router. And it probably shouldn’t be a considerable distance away.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

John Parks

John Parks

Audioholic Samurai