Understanding watts, current(amps), and voltage

ensitmike

ensitmike

Audioholic Intern
I am fairly new to all this, but in my research I have run across multiple people that say a high watt amp will “awaken” “liven” and “up performance” of speakers even at low listening levels. E.g. A speaker at the same volume will sound better and "fuller" from a 200watt amp than a 50watt amp even if both have high current ratings.

Is this real?

I understand the fundamental difference between current and watts, however is it correct that when we turn up the volume knob the greater determining factor is the voltage rather than the current? If this is the case, then does high watts really matter or is something else going on?

If I'm not mistaken then the only time I can see a 200 watt amp performing better is when volume levels exceed the 50 watt amp capabilities.

Thanks for any clarification.

L

Leemix

Audioholic General
At lower volumes it may depend on how much pure class A before going AB. Good quality amps usually have much better heat dissipation with big cooling fins and such so can run more heat producing class A watts.

It doesnt take all that much at moderate/higher volumes to go past the comfort zone of a 50w amp unless very sensitive speakers.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
I am fairly new to all this, but in my research I have run across multiple people that say a high watt amp will “awaken” “liven” and “up performance” of speakers even at low listening levels. E.g. A speaker at the same volume will sound better and "fuller" from a 200watt amp than a 50watt amp even if both have high current ratings.

Is this real?
It isn't correct to say "a high watt amp WILL awaken, liven, or up the performance of speakers even at low listening levels". But if you said CAN awaken… you'd be more correct.