Suggestions for Surround Speakers with Elac Front/Center?

N

Neo_2020

Audiophyte
Hi,
I am new to home theater systems and am in the process of setting up a 5.1 system in my home. Currently, I have Elac Debut b6.2 for my front L/R, Elac c6.2 for my center, and SVS PB12-NSD subwoofer. I wanted to use Elac OW4.2 for my surround but my surround junction box is on ceiling and it does not seem like I can easily mount Elacs on ceiling (do not have any keyholes). I am wondering if I can use Polk S10s for surround in this setup or if there are any other suggestions?
Thanks!

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
Interesting indeed. Is there a reason you don’t want to mount them on the wall instead, where they normally go?

N

Neo_2020

Audiophyte
I do not have wall in that area and the speaker connectors are on the ceiling. However, I believe I have figured out how to mount Elacs using the OmniMount ceiling mount. Will give it a try next week and hopefully will not damage the speakers in the process (as it seems to require drilling in the speakers).

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
I do not have wall in that area and the speaker connectors are on the ceiling. However, I believe I have figured out how to mount Elacs using the OmniMount ceiling mount. Will give it a try next week and hopefully will not damage the speakers in the process (as it seems to require drilling in the speakers).
Don’t be scared...
But do be smart.
Have a good drill, with a good drill guide.
How many mounting points are needed? Using threaded inserts? How heavy is the speaker?

N

Neo_2020

Audiophyte
Need two mounting points.
The speakers do not have threaded inserts, so will need to use #12 or #14 wood screws with mounting plate.
The speakers are about 8 lbs.
Omnimount 15C can hold up to 15 lbs.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Need two mounting points.
The speakers do not have threaded inserts, so will need to use #12 or #14 wood screws with mounting plate.