New to all this Audio

A

AMG16

Audiophyte
Hey everyone new here name is Eric.

just built a house about a year ago and finally got all my audio gear installed. I have a pioneer SC-LX801. Im currently running 7.1.2 with front ceiling Atmos speakers.

question I’m running Disney+ via my PS4 (bitstream Dolby) why am I not getting the option of Atmos if the show is Atmos enabled?

Last edited:
A

AMG16

Audiophyte
So basically it’s objected based and not true Atmos, so that’s why it’s not coming up? Sorry I’m new to all this home theater stuff. Had a real basic out the box onkyo 5.1 system at my old house. Loved the system and surround sound...so decided to go bigger

Trying to learn a lot in the process now since I upgraded.

Hamid Khan

Hamid Khan

Junior Audioholic
Hey everyone new here name is Eric.

just built a house about a year ago and finally got all my audio gear installed. I have a pioneer SC-LX801. Im currently running 7.2.1 with front ceiling Atmos speakers.

question I’m running Disney+ via my PS4 (bitstream Dolby) why am I not getting the option of Atmos if the show is Atmos enabled?
Welcome, Eric, I am not sure if your ps4 supports Atmos, also I am providing link related to Disney streaming service.
Here, https://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/disney-plus-dolby-atmos-problems/
Secondly, is the ps4 connected to your pioneer AV receiver?

A

AMG16

Audiophyte
From what I have been reading if you have a receiver that is Atmos and the PS4 is set to bitstream it would work. Previous movies I’ve watched on the PS4 would come up Atmos. That’s what got me confused.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
From what I have been reading if you have a receiver that is Atmos and the PS4 is set to bitstream it would work. Previous movies I’ve watched on the PS4 would come up Atmos. That’s what got me confused.
If your PS4 could do it with others I'd suspect an app limitation....

Hamid Khan

Hamid Khan

Junior Audioholic