Am I considered Audiophile?

G

Gmoney

Audioholic Ninja
Hard to forget a face like Mink's...but am a big John Waters fan too ever since Pink Flamingos.
Yep she stole just about every scene she was in. I'm gonna have to do a Google on her see what else she played in.

Auditor55

Auditor55

Audioholic General
Hello all,

I am new to the Audiophile world.
I used to own Magnepan 1.71 and a pre amp with power amp 2x200wats/ch from Rotel.

Now, at 53 I have (I want to believe), turned into cheaper area but nice quality.

I have Polk Audio RTI-A7 Speakers and Yamaha RX-V385 Receiver that I have disabled every function of surround settings and I listen to two channel stereo or PCM.
I hope I qualify to be considered Audiophile, LOL
You need at least two 100 lbs monoblocks, no less that 5k each, two tower speakers at least 20K a pair (no subwoofers allowed), no less than 2k on speakers cables. Must have an extremely high-end external DAC if you're going to listen to harsh digital audio. Must have a turntable and vinyl recordings. BTW, you might be able to exchange the monoblocks for a 10k tub amp. Now if you have something like that you might be considered an entry level audiophile.

By no means can you be considered an Audiophile with any Japanese brand AVR. Again, no subwoofers and cheap speaker cables purchased from Walmart or Amazon.

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
Just heard that Cybertron systems is releasing their new subwoofer called “The Megatron Blaster.” Inspired by the transformer Megatron.

It can play down to 5 hz at 115 db open space and less than .001 THD+n The subwoofer weighs in at 485 lbs and they are giving it a nickname the “Big-show”.

My only issue is my basement is 7 ft high and with the spikes the sub stands 7 ft 1/8”. It retails for $5000 US

Any ideas how I can get the megatron into my room would be appreciated:rolleyes: