Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
Thanks, I’ve no personal experience with either of the speakers unfortunately.

I’ve had my eyes fixed on the Songtowers for a little while now but again no personal experience with them. So that said if I had it in my budget, why would I choose the BMR over the Songtower if I had the space for either one?
I don't know which tweeter the SongTowers you are considering have, but my simple view is:
Songtower pros:
Transmission Line (quarterwave) bass - very nice for what it is (7 5" drivers),but the flip side is it is not truly full range and most of us would use a subwoofer. The quality of the mid bass is still very good, but the true beauty of this bass is not used once you cross to a sub. Understand that other aspects are well designed (by Dennis),but I think the BMR is probably better for mids and highs. The Songtowers are ideally suited as a high quality 2.0 system for music!

MBR Pros:
RAAL ribbon tweeter (assuming Songtower has any other tweeter).
Phenominal dispersion - 30 degrees off axis tracks within 2dB of on-axis and 80 degrees tracks within 5 dB of on-axis - that is insane (see link below for details)

http://philharmonicaudio.com/BMR Philharmonitor.html

Last edited:
ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
I don't know which tweeter the SongTowers you are considering have, but my simple view is:
Songtower pros:
Transmission Line (quarterwave) bass - very nice for what it is (7" driver),but the flip side is it is not truly full range and most of us would use a subwoofer. The quality of the mid bass is still very good, but the true beauty of this bass is not used once you cross to a sub. Understand that other aspects

MBR Pros:
Phenominal dispersion - 30 degrees off axis tracks within 2dB of on-axis and 80 degrees tracks within 5 dB of on-axis - that is insane (see link below for details)

Just adding:
Song Tower: 2-way TL (dome tweet) 38Hz