Are used B&W DM602 speakers still worth considering

T

TheRFMan

Audiophyte
Hi folks,

I'm not to the forum here, but not entirely new to the world of audio (I'm also an electrical engineer with lots of analogue experience). I have to admit that the world of good speakers is a bit overwhelming though.

I'm looking to get new speakers for my 2-channel listening setup in my office. I'm currently running two Polk T300 speakers on a Monoprice 25Wx2 hybrid tube amp (it's a pretty nice little no-frills amp!). No subwoofer. The setup isn't atrocious, but I know I can do better than the T300s.

I've come across a pair of good-condition used B&W DM602 speakers (the original design) available for $400CAD (abut $310USD). I could probably negotiate them down to $350. I've heard lots of good things about them, but it is an old design. Are they still worth it, or should I look at something more recent or new?

Others I have stumbled upon online are the Klipsch R-15M, and the Monoprice Monolith K-BAS low extension seems interesting in a system without a sub.

Sensitivity is not an issue for me, I usually listen at fairly low volumes. In fact, lower sensitivity would likely allow me to run the amp a bit closer to its sweet spot at the target listening volume.

I'm interested in hearing the opinions of folks with more knowledge than me on this topic :)

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Id take the monoprice over the BWs. Have you heard them? Between the two the BWs midrange is bloated and the treble a little harsh. The monoprice has a hump in the midrange also but not near as pronounced.

speakerman39

speakerman39

Audioholic Overlord
Hi folks,

I'm not to the forum here, but not entirely new to the world of audio (I'm also an electrical engineer with lots of analogue experience). I have to admit that the world of good speakers is a bit overwhelming though.