Speaker configuration advice

M

moka

Audiophyte
tmp_9267-IMG-20170920-WA00172100200602.jpg
I'm connecting speakers to a pa amplifier. The amp has 2 sets of outputs, 1set is labeled 330ohm, and the other is labeled 4-16ohm.

Now I'm still new to all of this so I may be mistaken, but from what I can gather, the ohm of multiple speakers goes up or down depending on the use of parallel vs series configuration.

In my case I have 4 speakers all labeled 8ohm 20w and the amp is 100w, so everything should fit. But I don't know how I can make the 4 speakers ohm match the amp and which set of outs to use.. The 4-16ohm out or the 330ohm out. Real help would be so appreciated.

Last edited:
TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
View attachment 22410 I'm connecting speakers to a pa amplifier. The amp has 2 sets of outputs, 1set is labeled 330ohm, and the other is labeled 4-16ohm.

Now I'm still new to all of this so I may be mistaken, but from what I can gather, the ohm of multiple speakers goes up or down depending on the use of parallel vs series configuration.

In my case I have 4 speakers all labeled 8ohm 20w and the amp is 100w, so everything should fit. But I don't know how I can make the 4 speakers ohm match the amp and which set of outs to use.. The 4-16ohm out or the 330ohm out. Real help would be so appreciated.
You have a public address amp not a home amp. It is mono and NOT stereo.

The 330 ohm is for the common 70 volt PA system and not to be used with domestic speakers. These speakers are connected via tapped transformer labelled in watts.

You will have to use the 4 to 16 ohm terminals. You will only be able to run two speakers. You will have to connect just two in parallel. They will be mono and both will get an identical signal.

If this is for home audio you have the WRONG amp.

M

moka

Audiophyte
You have a public address amp not a home amp. It is mono and NOT stereo.